top of page

Illinois Soccer History Timeline

1883 ~ The Pullman Association Football Club and the Original Wanderers play a soccer match at the Pullman Works.

1893 ~ Chicago Football Association forms (1893-1913). Among the teams are the Swifts, Colhours, Braidwood, Wanderers and the Thistles/Pullman.

1893 ~ The World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago features soccer: The Thistles defeat the Braidwood Miners.

1904 ~ The world’s governing body of soccer, FIFA, is formed.

1904 ~ The Association Football League forms (1904-1913).

1909 ~ Peter J. Peel Cup (now the Illinois State Cup) is inaugurated, and the Campbell Rovers are the first champions.

1913 ~ United States Football Association (now United States Soccer Federation [USSF]) forms and gains full membership to FIFA in 1914.

1914 ~ National Challenge Cup (now the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup) is inaugurated.

1915 ~ Illinois State Soccer Association forms, becoming a charter member of the USSF in 1916.

1919 ~ International [National] Soccer League forms.

1930 ~The United States finishes third at first FIFA World Cup in Montevideo, Uruguay.

1934 ~ Chicago native Julius Hjulian of the Chicago Wonderbolts plays for the US National Team in the 1934 World Cup in Italy.

1938 ~ The International Soccer League changes its name to the National Soccer League of Chicago. It remains the oldest league in the United States.

1938 ~ Sparta ABA wins the National Challenge Cup.

1940 ~ Sparta ABA wins the National Challenge Cup.

1946 ~ AA Vikings wins the US Open Cup (formerly the National Challenge Cup)

1948 ~ The Junior and Juvenile Division forms (1948-1973).

1949 ~ Peter Matevich and Gino Gard of the Slovaks and Alan Wolanin of the Eagles play on the US National Team.

1950 ~ United States defeats England 1-0 at the 1950 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

1950 ~ National Soccer Hall of Fame is founded.

1953 ~ Chicago Falcons win the US Open Cup.

1955 ~ Eddie Murphy (Slovaks & Maroons), Adoph Bachmaier (Kickers), and Bob Gansler (Spurs) play on the US National Team.

1964 ~Schwaben AC wins US Amateur Cup

1966 ~Chicago Kickers wins US Amateur Cup

1967 ~ United Soccer Association forms (1967-1968). The Chicago Mustangs are a member.

1967 ~National Professional Soccer League forms (1967-1968). The Chicago Spurs are a member.

1968 ~North American Soccer League (NASL) is founded (1968-1985) from the union of the United Soccer Association and the National Professional Soccer League.

1968 ~Chicago Kickers wins US Amateur Cup

1970 ~Chicago Kickers wins US Amateur Cup

1972 ~Chicago Latin American Soccer Association forms. This league is the first affiliated all-Hispanic league in Illinois

1973 ~ Illinois Youth Association forms.

1974 ~Illinois Women's Soccer League forms. This is the first all-female league in Illinois

1975 ~Chicago Sting joins the NASL.

1975 ~Chicago Kickers wins US Amateur Cup

1978 ~Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL) is founded.

1981 ~Chicago Sting wins the first NASL Soccer Bowl.

1981 ~Metropolitan Soccer League is formed.

1984 ~Chicago Sting wins the NASL Soccer Bowl again.

1984 ~American Indoor Soccer Association forms. The Chicago Vultures are charter members, later joined by the Chicago Soccers and Chicago Power.

1989 ~AAC Eagles wins US Amateur Cup

1990 ~AAC Eagles win the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

1991 ~Chicago Power (NPSL) wins the first professional championship in Chicago indoor soccer history.

1991 ~US Women win the first-ever Women’s World Cup in China.

1994 ~Chicago hosts the first round of the 1994 FIFA World Cup.

1996 ~Major League Soccer (MLS) forms.

1998 ~Chicago Fire is formed and wins the inaugural MLS Cup and the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

1998 ~Schwaben AC wins US Amateur Cup

1999 ~Chicago is one of the host cities of the 1999 Women’s World Cup held in the United States. The US Women are the champions.

2000 ~Chicago Fire wins the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

2002 ~US Men reach the quarterfinals at the 2002 World Cup held in Japan and South Korea.

2003 ~Chicago Fire wins the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

2003 ~Chicago Fire wins the MLS Supporters’ Shield.

2003 ~The United States once again hosts the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

2004 ~Chicago Storm joins the MISL.

2004 ~Assyrian Winged Bull wins US Amateur Cup

2006 ~Toyota Park opens in Bridgeview.

2006 ~Chicago Fire wins Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

2007 ~Illinois State Select Teams (Men and Women) win the National Select Team Cup.

             This is the first time both teams have won in the same year in Illinois and Region II history.

2007 ~Soccer America magazine names the Chicago Magic (boys) and Eclipse Select (girls) as the top youth teams in the United States.

2009 ~Chicago Red Stars (Women’s Profession Soccer) Inaugural season

2011 ~Chicago Red Stars leave the WPS and join the lower division WPSL

2011 ~RWB Adria wins US Amateur Cup

2013 ~RWB Adria wins US Amateur Cup

bottom of page